Managing Behaviour: The 5 step appeal

5 Step Appeal

As well as a teacher I volunteer as special constable. Every year I attend Officer Safety Training which includes refresher training on UDT, take downs, handcuffing, ASP, Pava. The latest training session also included a section on the 5 step appeal which can be summerised as stages to go through to get [violent] offenders to cooperate with you, to safety restrain them, arrest them, negotiate with them to make and others safe.

This training really got me to reflect on my own role at school with a focus on being a head of year and being “on call” as SLT. As head of year you encounter conflict every day, sometimes at the request of a classroom teacher. On these occasions the situation has often escalated to a scale, where it can be hard to get back to a level playing field.

The 5 step appeal is something which I can not only embed in my policing but also teaching. I will share how I think it can be used and hope others will find it a useful tool to have in the bag. The steps should not have to be always followed in a direct order. In fact, Step 4 is probably the most important to evidence compliance.

 

Step 1 – Simple  Approach

The most simple thing you can do is ask the student to stop their behavior.

“stop shouting”

“Get down from the table”

“Stop throwing the gluestick”

“Leave the classroom”

 

Step 2 – The Reasoned Appeal

Remind the student why they are not following your expectations and/or school rules.  Repeat why you are making the request and inform the student of their behavior and options.

“I have asked everyone to work in the groups set, not to walk around, return to your seat”

“The activity should be completed in silence so you and others can think”

“is this safe/ you are putting others in danger”

 

Step 3 – The Personal Appeal

Make that personal appeal. Try to make the student put themselves in another students shoes and make them reflect on their actions. How would they feel? Why do you want them to do it?

“How would you feel if you were working in silence and other students were distracting you”

“Would you behave like this if the head/folks at home were here?”

“If you do not stop doing………. then you will lose your lunch time”

“What will mum say when I have to phone home later to say this….”

 

Step 4 – The final practical appeal

The last chance saloon! Otherwise known as “what can I reasonably do” appeal. I have tried this a few times as head of year and it is a very good open question to get a conversation following and could ultimately lead to interventions.

Inform the student of what they have done, what they need to do and ask them “ is there anything I can reasonably do [or say] to make you …………………………………………”

Of course you may get silly requests but I would just repeat what you have asked. If anything it shows a emotional intelligence in recongising that it is possible the student is showing behavior for a reason and that it is some kind of (missed) communication.

Tell the student this is there last chance before it gets really serious. If they do not do what you say not you will have to take the following actions and there will be named consequences. At this stage you could offer alternative options.

Step 5 – Action

If you have given the student any options such as if you do A) this will happen, B) this happens and so on. I think it is important at this stage to act on what you have said the outcomes will be in steps 3 and 4. Do what you said you were going to do and do not make empty threats.  You will need make a judgement call on the conversation and evidence and follow through with consequences and actions.

 

Examples of how I have used the 5 step appeal to resolve more complex situations:

Context: Called on SLT radio that a student has walked from the room where they were meant to be.

Once located I asked the student to come back with me, they didn’t budge an inch. I then informed the student where they were meant to be and who they were meant to be with and then that they were missing vital learning time. The student did not move from their location and had no intention of leaving. I then asked “what can I reasonably do to get you back to where you should be” – the student responded to this and opened up. 2 minutes later they were back where they should be.

Context: Student refusing to go to a particular lesson.

I spoke to the student and asked them to attend the lesson. When they said they didn’t want to and would not. They were then informed that it was expected that all students attend timetabled lessons so they could learn and we know where they are and they are safe. I then focused on step 3 to make it personal – I asked what they wanted to do when they left school, to see if I could relate the subject to their career of choice. When these and other requests did not work, I asked “What can I reasonably do to get you back in this lesson?” once again the reasons why the student did not attend were expressed and they could be resolved.

The following video from Gwent Police shows police officers in a life or death situation using the 5 step appeal.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W30sCkf9J2s

Let me know if you have found this useful

 

A more detail version can be read if you are a member of the Chartered College of Teaching

One thought on “Managing Behaviour: The 5 step appeal

Leave a comment